Write On in February!

Join me during the month of February for Chronicles’s First Annual Write-A-Thon!

February

I love the concept of NaNoWriMo, of writers challenging themselves to crank out a first draft using as many words as possible in a set period of time. The problem for me with NaNoWriMO is the timing. With my children’s activities, preparations for the holidays, and a large family to cook for at Thanksgiving, November can be as crazy for me as December. On the other hand, Mother Nature created the quiet months of January and February for those of us who love to read, write, and sit by the fire sipping red wine.

While I’m waiting for my proof copy of Saving Ben to arrive from CreateSpace, now is just the right time for me to start my new project, a YA novel with the working title Wrecked. My young protagonist, Mitch, has been whispering in my ear for weeks, begging me to tell his story. I am primed and ready for a NaNoWriMo challenge. Now all I need are some writer friends to encourage me along.

There won’t be any fancy web badges or gizmos that track your word counts, but I will offer weekly—and sometimes daily—prizes, small items meant to comfort as well as motivate you while you’re writing. Plus . . . at the end of the month, the writer who has written the most words will win a Kindle Paperwhite. That doesn’t mean you can come sliding into home base on February 28 and declare 50,000 words to claim your prize. You must be an active participant in the Write-A-Thon. My goal is to create a community where writers can vent their frustrations and brag about their successes. A place where writers do what we do best: offer advice.

So clear your calendars, prepare your outlines, and join me back here on February 1 for more details. And don’t forget to spread the word to all your writing buddies.

Use the # writeathon to get the TALK ON about WRITE ON.

While you’re here, scroll down and enter for a chance to win a copy of Catherine Ryan Howard’s Self-Printed: The Sane Person’s Guide to Self-Publishing.

One thought on “Write On in February!

  1. Pingback: Write-A-Thon: Something To Do In February « Emilie Hardie

Leave a Reply

