Camp NaNoWriMo

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

Who says NaNoWriMo is for first drafters only?

I finally finished the very shitty first draft of my WIP, Wrecked. Expecting to be bogged down in revisions, I’d originally dismissed the idea of participating in April’s Camp NaNoWriMo. That is, until I realized my first draft was lacking several very important scenes and my word count was way short of where it needed to be. Which is what happens when you rush things that aren’t meant to be rushed. The good news is I have the opportunity to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo. I haven’t completed an outline or cleared my calendar—all the more need for a community who will encourage me to write every day.

If the first draft is considered the shitty one, the second draft is the one that flourishes. For me, the second draft is when everything clicks. Opportunities present themselves in a way I haven’t seen before. Characters who were a mere mention in the first draft take on more of an active role in the story. Secondary plot lines grow. Relationships form and conflict evolves. Description becomes more detailed. Characters develop bad habits. It’s not that surprising, really, when you think about how horrible your first draft is, your manuscript can only get better.

For my fellow writers who are also participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, please share your experiences with things you’ve found helpful. I’ve never been fully engaged with the social aspect of NaNoWriMo. Which discussion threads do you think are interesting? How does ones gain support and motivation? Have you connected with Camp NaNoWriMo participants from your own community?

9 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I’m so happy we are cabin mates! In the past, there were local groups and I have connected that way. Also, we would do writing sprints together since there is the chat thingy:)

  2. Pingback: Camp Nanowrimo Day 3: My personal cheerleader | A Writing Pursuit

  3. This is the first time I’ve participated in the Camp, though I’ve done November three times (and finally won last year) and I’m loving in. Two of my cabin mates in particular are helping to make it as much a social experience as a creative one, and we’re having a blast competing for who has the largest word count at the end of each day. The only way it could be better is if cabin mates could be chosen based on proximity to your time zone, since all my cabin mates are in the US which makes it difficult to have a proper conversation.

Leave a Reply

